top of page
Search

Daily Diary: Monday, July 15th

Updated: Jul 16, 2019

Today, it was my turn to complete the program blog of the day! Here is what we got up to:


Monday, July 15th: a gray Monday morning in Tokyo, Japan. We woke up early and groggily folded and returned our sheets to Miki before checking out of the A Building at the National Youth Olympic Center. We had a free morning, which we utilized for rest, research, and reflection time, having just returned from a busy weekend of travel.

After packing up and checking out, I spent the morning in Cafe Friends in the central building here at NYC, doing homework, interviewing Miki, and drinking coffee. It was a relaxing start to the day, and I felt more organized and refreshed after the chaotic week we just had, during which my classmates and I travelled all over Japan.

For lunch, Anna and I took the elevator to the ninth floor of D Building, to Sakura Restaurant, with beautiful views of Shinjuku. We finally decided to try the shrimp and egg omelette that has been so tempting since our arrival. A model of the dish is set right next to the elevator on the first floor, and we couldn’t believe that we had waited so long before trying it. It absolutely lived up to our expectations.

Class at 1 brought discussions of cultural appropriation in regards to Chicano subculture in Japan, as well as logistics of wrapping up research and finishing the program.

After class, we checked into our new rooms in D Building. I began editing my vlog, but got restless and decided to go for a walk alone. I ended up at the Meiji Shrine, right next to Yoyogi Park, very close to where we are staying. It was a beautiful, massive square tucked inside a forest of tall trees. It was very quiet, and it was hard for me to believe that I was still in Tokyo.

After my walk, Mayah and I headed to Shibuya for the world premiere of the documentary film Queer Japan, directed by American Graham Kolbeins. The film featured people from across the broad spectrum of gender and sexuality, and focussed on personal stories from artists, activists, and everyday people living in Japan. The film discussed legal and social stigma faced by the LGBTQ+ community, and celebrated important past milestones for inclusion, such as the election of transgender Aya Kamikawa. We ended the day with a vending machine snack, and then were off to bed.




Today was one of the less busy days of the program, so instead of simply vlogging what we did, I decided to include some reflective interview questions from my peers. I asked them about their research topics, their weekend excursion, and their favorite Japanese foods. Please enjoy the following video!




12 views

Comments


bottom of page